Question about needle placement

An area to talk about saline inflation.

Moderator: bigray57

smaberi

Question about needle placement

Post by smaberi »

Hello!

I recently attempted my first saline infusion. After reading many forums and articles I had a pretty good idea of the process. I have some experience with needles and sterile working due to my diabetes.

Before I began, I thoroughly washed my hands and scrotal area, and ensured the chair where I would be sitting was clean. I disinfected everything with 80% alcohol and sterile gauze. I flushed the tubing and needle to ensure there was no air, and then sat down to start.

It was quite scary since I had never done this, but after some time I managed to insert the needle. However, no matter how far I opened the clamp, no fluid was running (I could tell because no new drops were falling from the bag into the chamber).

I tried again with a new needle in a slightly different spot and this time I did notice there was some flow but the swelling seemed to concentrate around the needle.

The bag was about 3 feet above the infusion site.

What did I do wrong?

Rafdk

Re: Question about needle placement

Post by Rafdk »

Looking forward to comments
DrDeadDick

Post by DrDeadDick »

Straight in here did the trick. :mrgreen:
Saline went straight in. Whoosh. What a rush. :-D

I injected.
Too impatient for a drip feed. ):-]
19G needle.

Don't waste your time with a drip feed.

I was sort of nervous, but I had seen so many pics of needles into sacs with no problems that I wasn't worried. Wheee.

Once I started I really got carried away. LOL
Sac ended up the size of a small melon. :D :D :D
Ran out of saline. Grrrrr. LOL

Size and weight between your fingers and legs is another rush.

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
pipefitterdom

Post by pipefitterdom »

Rafdk wrote: Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:11 pm Looking forward to comments
You did nothing wrong. The concentrated area is normal, things will even out when the swelling begins!